#FaithFriday

Why is it almost 2016? Why? Why? How does time go by so fast? Why does time go by so fast Lord? Geez! I feel like the past couple of years I have been kind of emotional, like what in the world have I done with my year.

A few years ago a guest speaker came to my church, The Epicenter of Worship, Apostle Gail McKinney. I remember her saying to me, “God has been so good to you!”. I thought to myself, I know this is a woman of God, I know she hears from Him, nothing she’s ever said to me was wrong, but God has been good to me, really?! So good at that?! At that time, nothing was going right in my life. Like, nothing. So when she said that to me I was so confused. But I smiled and said, he has. Not believing what she said or my response.

It’s crazy because I think about that encounter about every other day. Good days and bad days I think about that short conversation. For about a year after that conversation I would think about it and wonder why would she said that to me. Nothing is going right, how has God been good to me? Just thinking back on that mentality, I’m almost embarrassed.

And then, I believe it was this year my pastor, Pastor T spoke and said, “Regardless of if we think God is good, He is still good!”. Just thinking about that, I’m like almost in tear. I think about that about every other day too. I think it was then, that it all really clicked.

Recently Apostle Gail came back to my church and spoke. I got to chat with her briefly afterwards and I thanked her for that short conversation we had a few years back. While I didn’t understand it at the time, over time I began to understand.

As I reflect on this past year, I can say I’ve had some of the best moments of my life this year. And while I can’t (Thank God) say I’ve had some of the worst, I’ve had some bad days and I didn’t make some of the best decisions this year. But, I can say that God has been good to me, and he always has.

You see, regardless of if it was the worst year or the best year, you still lived through the year. Regardless if God took away or added, you still lived through the year. And just because you had some bad days, those bad days do not mean that God is still not good and that He hasn’t been good to you.

I was thinking like a selfish, bratty child when I thought why would she say that God has been good to me, when it had been a horrible year? I was still grieving the lost of my cousin, I had made horrible decisions with finances and school, relationships were a wreck. How could she say that to me? But through all of my bad choices God had still been good to me and I couldn’t see that.

As the year comes to an end, I want to say to you, God has been so good to you. Whether this was a good year, a bad year, or a mix of both. God has been so good to you. Don’t look at how much you’ve been through or what’s going wrong or right in your life, but think about how you made it! You made it to the end of the year and you have have life, and a chance at a whole new year. God has been so good to us!

πŸ™‚

One thought on “#FaithFriday

Leave a Reply

